Honest & Respect
side 1 side 2 side 3

School Curriculum information

The school has altered its provision to meet the New National Curriculum requirements.  We are still using a theme-based approach where appropriate.  When teaching reading, we have a wide variety of books including Oxford Reading Tree that are banded into levels.  For phonic teaching, we follow the government scheme called 'Letters and Sounds'.   For 2016-17, the classes will study the following themes which cover Science, History, Geography, Art, Music, Religious Education, Design and Technology, ICT and Personal and Social Health Education. Some subjects will not always fit naturally into the topic and so are taught as 'standalone' subjects.

  Aut A  Aut B Spr A Spr B  Sum A  Sum B
YR   All about me  Winter   Fairy tales 
Y1 Amazing Animals My School is Cool! Gibson's Garden Centre
 Y2  The Great Fire of London Traction Man Africa Snail and the Whale   Gardens of Surprise Gardens of Surprise
 Y3 & 4  Egypt  Active Planet Time Machine  Thorney Now and Then  Rio  Holidays
 Y5 & 6  The Marvellous Mayans   Battle of Britain and Beyond The Ice Trap  Smashing Saxons and Vicious Vikings The Groovy Greeks  Nature's Wonders


These curriculum plans are reviewed at the end of each year and tweaked accordingly.